STANDING UP AND GOING ON – THE FAERIEWOOD WAY

Well, what can I say? I’ve neglected my blog for a very long time. But I do believe I have had a good reason.  Sometimes life just gets away from you and leaves you in a little bundle of nothingness, not able to reach out to other people and to function normally.

Last year in October disaster struck.  I had to say goodbye to my partner of 16 years and husband of 7.  Johan suddenly passed away after a heart attack on Saturday, 18 October.  What devastation it was on my poor soul and my life!  Even though he was sick for seven long years with bone marrow cancer, his death came so suddenly… And I realised that you can never be prepared for the death of someone you love.  It is devastation upon devastation and it leaves you unable to function normally for a long long time.

I went into a sort of a holding pattern, just keeping everything going, but not doing much.  I thought the new year would give me the opportunity to get up and get going.  Just to be visited by another spectre I didn’t expect.  I was diagnosed with cancer and had to undergo six weeks of rigorous radiation treatment.

Dear God, what more will happen to me?  This was my cry for days and weeks while I struggled with the side-effects of the radiation and tried to keep going for my horses’ sake, my granddaughter’s sake and my own sake.

That is now all over.  I beat cancer, although I will for a long time to come have to battle the “left over” effects of the treatment.  Now I can focus on my horses again.  And what blessings they are, not only to me, but to others!

I sold two fillies – Faeriewood Ayla to Madelein Vosloo and Faeriewood Aurelie to Charly – a young girl who had wanted a Friesian since the first time she saw the majestic horses.  Faeriewood Xanna is also with Madelein.  So, we’re moving out into life and hopefully we’ll soon be taking part in shows again.  My aim is next year.

The Baroque Pinto program was put on hold, but I hope to start that this coming season.  And hopefully Lancelot and Lilly, my two miniature horses, will give me a foal.  They’ve been at it often enough!

There is hope and there is life and while we have those, we’ll move forward, little by little, baby steps at first and stronger and stronger as time goes on.

Watch this space and rejoice with us that we were given a new lease on life and new energy and strength to carry on.

We remain proud Riders for the Son!!

I

Leave a comment